01.18.09: dinner.

dscn2809

Pork Roast with Couscous

I was thinking about calling this post “Pork Roast FAIL”, but it wasn’t a failure, per se, but it did… defy expectations.

I had a very general recipe for a 7-8 lb boneless shoulder roast and I purchased a 4 lb bone-in roast.  I salted/peppered the roast and placed it in the fridge for 24 hours before cooking.  Next, I let it warm to room temp then threw it into a 350 F oven for ~2 hrs, 30 min per pound.  While cooking, I added some cut up carrots, onions and garlic to roast with the roast.  To finish, I cut the roast into large pieces and roasted for another 30 minutes.

To go with, I prepared some couscous and dressed with the veggies and the pork drippings.  I had some tomato salsa left over from my roast chicken and added it too.

So, why the notions of failure? Well… first off all, I shoulda gotten a boneless roast.  Secondly, the preparation was supposed to yield plenty of leftovers, but after spending the day lusting after the roast all day, I ate FAR too much of it.  Lastly, since it’s essentially coated in pork fat, it left my entire house reeking of bacon for days after.

So please, dare to be great, dear reader, but beware: if you’re gonna go whole hog, go the full nine and expect the unexpected.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 602 other followers