On the Virtues of Yogurt Sauce

Sockeye Salmon with Dill Yogurt Sauce

Sockeye Salmon with Dill Yogurt Sauce

I am always looking for new and easy ways to embiggen the taste of the average every-night dinner.  I am also enormous fan of Greek yogurt.  The non-fat, unflavored kind has become a must-half for me over the last year and I’ve officially added it to my pantry staple list.

Lately I have been experimenting with Greek yogurt as a sauce base.  Sauces are great because you can serve a simpler meat/fish and side and flavor them both with the same agent- conferring the virtue of fewer parts, elegence in simplicity.  Typically, sour cream, crème fraîche, mayo (aioli) or some other such matrix is employed to make many traditional condiments, but I shy away from those for day-to-day stuff because of their high fat content and fickleness.  Special occasions, a weekend or for a once-in-a-while they’re fine, but for more general use I advocate Greek yogurt.  FYI- If you like yogurt but want a more sumptuous sauce, there are 2% and 10% fat Greek yogurts available.

It’s tang makes it’s a little less easy to work with flavor-wise, sure, but the health benefits make up for it, I think.  Play around with one or two tubs of it.  Up top I had a piece of sockeye, and I remember seeing a creamy dill sauce on salmon once on TV, so I bought some dill and got cracking.  I went on to add a touch of lemon juice and salt, and it was nearly perfect.  I was actually content to leave it at that, but after ruminating for a few minutes over a sink of dirty dishes, I remembered the small jar of whole grain mustard in the fridge.  The tiniest dollop of the stuff and the sauce was complete.  The mustard has a slight sweetness from the vinegar and the mustard backing was perfect.  Another easy winner is shredded cucumber squeezed dry, garlic, and salt in the self-same yogurt.

Dill Yogurt Sauce-

  • 1 small container (6 oz) of plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp dill fronds (more to taste if you like)
  • squeeze of lemon
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp whole grain mustard

Mix yogurt and dill, then add the lemon.  Before mixing again, add the salt and aim for the pool of lemon juice.  The salt will have an easier time dissolving in the lemon as opposed to the thick protein-rich yogurt.  Mix and add the pepper and mustard.  For best results, allow to sit for one hour before serving.

There you go- even in the dead heat of August, you can have fun playing in the kitchen and you might even come up with your new favorite recipe in the process.  Bon Appetit!

3 comments
  1. Karine said:

    I love yogurt sauces too. Especially with a really fat yogurt (not so good for the health though….)

    Your recipe looks delicious and thanks for sharing!

  2. I am addicted to Greek yogurt, too. I prefer the 2% kind. This sauce sounds like a keeper–your salmon is sooooo pink! You got a good one, there.

  3. LaComtesse said:

    I cannot WAIT to make this! I have a Fage non-fat yogurt in the fridge right now and I’m already imagining the many things to put this concoction on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers