9.22.09: more duck ham, with roasted zucchini!


Duck Prosciutto

Duck Prosciutto

Roasted Zucchini with Garlic and Crushed Red Pepper

Roasted Zucchini with Garlic and Crushed Red Pepper

Culinary inspiration can come from unpredictable places.  We visited friends over the Fourth of July (we made pizza, see here) and while there, solely through their stories (and a late night grocery store run), they engendered me with their genuine and untarnished love of hummus.

Now, in all fairness, the seeds had already been planted long ago.  One of my first cookbooks has a dynamite sun dried tomato hummus recipe in it.  I think what I found so refreshing about my friend’s attitude was their unabashed consumption of the stuff for dinner, sometimes more than one night a week.  I found this outlook very refreshing:  who cares if it’s not typical?  If we like it, let’s have it for dinner.

I find myself whipping up fresh hummus very often these days (I’ll post about it soon enough).  Unwilling to completely let go, I still feel the compulsion to at least accessorize the hummus, if nothing else.  Here, I knew that Beth had some leftover cheese from the weekend, so I added a small amount of meat and a big ol’ veg.

I wasn’t super happy with my last try at Tom Colicchio’s  duck ham and I wanted a shot at redemption.  I wrapped the breast in less salt and bit more sugar than prescribed and the cured meat came out less desiccated and tough.  Lastly, the Jersey zucchini has been pretty great lately, so I threw a bunch of spears into the oven after covering them with grated garlic and salt & pepper.  I like having a meal every now and again that doesn’t conform to the standard main-side-salad guidelines.  If you’re feeling like you’re stuck in a rut with your cooking, try something crazy.  If it comes out weird, at least you learned a lesson… and had an excuse to order pizza.  Until next time, cook on!

2 comments
  1. jillian said:

    I’ll totally give you credit when my first album, Accessorize the Hummus goes platinum.

  2. I’m all about breaking out of the main-side-salad mold. Especially since we joined a CSA, sometimes basically all we eat are sides. Last night’s dinner was especially odd, but two of my favorite things: fried okra and caprese salad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers