12.19.09: dinner (almost snowed in).

Maccheroni alla Chitarra with Meatballs

As you may or not be aware, Elizabeth and I hail from southeastern PA.  Therefore we have family and friends in and around the Philadelphia and up and down the northeast from New Hampshire to DC.  Saturday morning, we were all a buzz amongst ourselves, bracing for the snow to make all other snows feel awkward for causing such a fuss, we made movements to secure a warm, delicious meal for a snowy night.

While plenty of friends (especially in Philly and Maryland) got Snow’d in a very real way, we of the Empire state of mind were only grazed by what I insist is less than six inches of the fluffy stuff (even though the weather service insists it was more).  Despite the lackluster blizzard, our dinner was delightfully appropriate for the forty-five minutes of powerful winter we saw.

San Marzano tomatoes

I’ve been fantasizing about San Marzano tomatoes lately.  The previous week I had decided on making fresh pasta and we tossed up on whether to do a mushroom or tomatoey sauce; we opted for mushrooms, but that’s another post.  This weekend then I made it up to myself.  I don’t love spaghetti and meatballs, but somehow it felt perfect at the time.  Elizabeth has been extolling the virtues of this light tomato sauce she whipped up while I was away several weeks back, and I wanted to give it the old college try–only this time, I insisted on adding a good amount of shaved fennel to the mix.  A liberal topping with shredded fresh basil brightens the whole affair.

I wanted to keep things very simple, so I decided to go whip up some meatballs… I mean, why not?   Again, to keep things light, we stuck to one package of 93:7 ground turkey.  I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs (a bit much, and had I had some white bread I’d have used that), one egg and I seasoned with 1 1/2 tsp each of oregano, dried parsley and my new Epazote from Penzey’s in the Grand Central Terminal Market.  I rolled the mix into twelve balls and cooked them at 400 F for 20 minutes in greased muffin tins.

So, on a dark snowy night, we encourage you to break from the norm and do something traditional.  Until next time, stay warm and cook on!

4 comments
  1. It wouldn’t be a bad thing at all to be snowed in with you! Perfect meal for a blizzard!

  2. Ltd. said:

    I love the idea of extra fennel – well played!

    Ltd.: 1
    Maryland snowfall: 0

    And we were snowed in with pasta & red sauce too :).

  3. vincent said:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  4. Looks beautiful and satisfying on a cold night! Plus, I love turkey in meatballs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 615 other followers