07.03.10: dinner (finally, the ceviche emerges).

Tilapia Ceviche with Three-Cheese Quesadillas

Sometimes I wonder if our readers take note of single commentary words in the title of the posts.  Ceviche “finally emerges”?  I have made this a few times now, and each time the wife dutifully photographs it and waits for me to wax philosophical on the majesty of macerated fish. The problem is that I was never fully taken with the picture, or the meal I made… something was always just not quite right.

As you can see above, the combination of three-cheese quesadilla and a lovely photo left me without a reason to abstain. I LOVE ceviche and the hot, hot summer makes this chilly fish dish cooked in citrus without so much as a microjoule of thermal say-so from the range, oven or grill.  By far, this is my favorite part. I mean, you can cook without fire! It’s like magic… the magic of science. Or that movie Aliens.

I have two fish I enjoy giving the acid bath to, either tilapia or catfish. The former is more delicate and therefore ready much faster while the meatier catfish needs more time in the drink. I like to use a juiced grapefruit half and a lime or two to soak the fishbits, 20 minutes for tilapia and 6 hours for the catfish. Once the fish appeared cooked (white and opaque) remove it from the juice, add a half of an avocado, a chopped tomato, jalapeno, half a red onion and some chopped garlic. Season and add chopped cilantro for a top shelf offering.

I enjoy a nice full shot of the fishy citrus juice with this meal, if only a non-gross way of bottling and distributing the stuff were available I’d have a nice glass of it every morning.  MMMMMMM! Until next time, friends! Cook on, with chemistry!

1 comment
  1. Ceviche is the perfect thing for the dog days of summer. You’re right though, it can be tricky to photograph! Yours looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers