07.17.10: dinner (lamb steaks and garlic confit)

Lamb Steaks with Garlic Confit with Mint

As you all know by now, the Mrs. and I recently returned from a trip to Merry Old England. The weekend before our departure, I got it in my head that I needed to prepare nothing but first-class cuisine in the event that the chow was lousy. Turns out it was far from bum, but it was the kind of snap judgement that just means you end up eating four great dinners instead of two. Worse case scenario maybe you make an extra trip to the gym. Oh well.

This evening I opted for the aforementioned quinoa pasta followed by some lamb.  The wedding also served lamb, but in a very different way (that is: in lamb chop form with this amazing mint jus that demanded you basically drink the stuff from the gravy boat). A knowledgeable butcher at the 97th and Columbus Whole Foods turned me on to the joys of lamb steakery many months ago, and I this particular evening I tried to recapture  the magic of the first time. That day they were sadly lacking the boneless loin steaks I prefer.  So, hedging my bets was a garlic confit, which turned out to be little more than a roasted garlic serve-along which was very nice but ultimately pedestrian. [Ed.--But I made it look cool!] It was hot that night and I employed a quick run under the broiler to get them done. Still tasty, of course.

I guess the take-home from this dinner was just because you’re expecting rough seas ahead, don’t necessarily steer the safest course, because daring is virtue and fortune favors the bold. Comfort food isn’t always the most comfortable choice and a night in before a big food gamble could be the premier of a delicious surprise or a new favorite. Until next time, cook on!

2 comments
  1. I love me some lamb…we don’t eat it nearly often enough. I’m putting it on the menu for next week, inspired by you.

  2. Tracy said:

    The garlic looks perfect. I hope you had plenty of bread along with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers