11.21.10: dinner (bikini-pizza and sausage, peppers and onions pizza)

Sun-dried Tomato, Cremini Mushroom and Fresh Mozzarella Pizza

[Ed.--Elizabeth found herself craving some bikini-pizza from this post, and so when Michael suggested making pizza to use up some leftover fresh mozzarella an actual pizza was born.]

With the prospect of Thanksgiving looming, we deemed our weekend ought to do without my beloved roasted chicken. One night we opted for a duck ragu, and the farthest possible go-to from that, I guess, must be two homemade pizzas.

The first, the ‘bikini-pizza’ as it were, was a bit wet once all was put upon the dough thanks to lots of fresh mozzarella, mushrooms and a twist with sun-dried tomatoes instead of fresh or canned. I anticipated this and and as such did not blind-bake the crust, giving the entire assembled pizza as much time in the hot box as possible. I covered an up-turned baking sheet with foil so if too much cornmeal got into the oven and burned, I could pull the entire thing out for the second pie. The day was dry and the dough was well-behaved, disembarking the pizza peel with ease. We bailed it after about 13 minutes at 500 F with a couple of spatulas and some oven mitts, as well as a optimally placed cutting board to rest.

Sausage, Peppers and Onions Pizza

The second pizza was a tad more of a traditionally Italian outing. I blind-baked this guy for five minutes then added sliced peppers, onions and some browned sausage I had leftover from a Fresh Direct over-buy. A simple outing, but totally effective. Mission to avoid whole big game poultry the weekend before Thanksgiving: accomplished. Mission to eat light on same weekend: failed. Deliciously so. Lesson learned: over-indulge and spend some extra hours in the gym and press ever onward. Cook on!

2 comments
  1. In my opinion, pizza is always worth it. I’ll have some of yours, please?

  2. Kim said:

    I always told myself that I could eat whatever I wanted… as long as I went to the gym to make up for it. Sadly, I’m eating whatever I want and not making it to the gym. Failure: 1; Kim: 0.

    [K]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers