11.13.10: dinner (new Mexican antojitos)

Árbol Chile and Peanut Salsa

Alright, here it is. I love antojitos. I think the term technically applies a certain type of fried Mexican fritter, but I have a book the wife bought for me last Christmas that extends the term to all Mexican small plates/snacky offerings. And I love them. Love love love them.

Shrimp in a Firey Salsa

The book and the entire pursuit in general, really, opens many wonderful otherwise undeveloped culinary worlds like the dried chile world and the meat+paste world (these sound like levels from the new Super Mario game). The real star of this evening was the árbol chile  and peanut salsa. It was an incredible mix of flavors where peanut butter was certainly a member, maybe a lead, but in no way a focus or solo act. The dip was salty and spicy and so savory that I insisted on putting it on everything for the following days until I used it all up. It’s from the book and I don’t want to post it, but I will start working on my own version as soon as possible.

Achiote-Rubbed Chicken Wings

The shrimps we have done before, but they go fast and they’re tasty and it’s a great recipe to keep in your back pocket for when a friend comes over you need a quick opener to impress some guests. The wings were rubbed with achiote paste, a lovely mix of chiles, spices, and bitter orange juice or vinegar. Wings are a fun way to add some full-weight sustenance to a cadre of finger foods and they’re unexpected and fun. These were good, although not as amazing as Emeril’s Vietnamese version, which I made here and may come back for New Year’s as a 2010 Food All-Star. Small plates mean more tastes; vary your roll and until next time, cook on!

3 comments
  1. You guys come up with the coolest recipes! I always wish I had a permanent spot in your kitchen.

  2. Kim said:

    I think I actually borrowed this book from the library, but had to return it before I ever made anything out of it. If I recall correctly, the photos in there were gorgous!!! I’ll have to go back and re-check it out so I can get on that shrimp and wings recipe. :-)

    [K]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers