02.19.11: dinner (roast chicken, Greek-style)

I guess we have several running jokes around here, but my favorite is probably my love of chicken roasting. As in,

Elizabeth: What do you want to make tonight?

Michael: I could roast a chicken…

Sometimes I just say it because I don’t want to think of what we’re having and if she says yes then so much the better, win-win-win. Lately I’d been rubbing the bird with some kind of chili or chipotle and shredding it into tortillas, so this time we looked for something still simple but decidedly different. Enter The Silver Spoon which is a tome of no (too) intensive variations on a common theme.

Chicken resting on a roasting rack

We selected a Greek-style preparation, which was a simple marinade of the bird with lemon, fresh oregano and S&P for a few hours. Nothing simpler. It sounds insufficient to produce a tasty, distinctive product, but honestly, it was enough. The final product did not explode with flavor, but it was subtle and delicious. I started with the more expensive Kosher bird, but in my estimation, this is almost always worth the extra money.

We had this as a second course following a Mario Batali pasta dish, so suffice to say there was lots left over. Intrepid as ever, Elizabeth suggested using the surplus (both breasts) in an authentic Mexican enchilada dish the following evening, but that’s another post. Until then, readers, remember that it doesn’t take much to move a mundane staple from repetitive and sad to new and exciting. More on this soon; until then, readers, cook on!

[Ed. – Michael explains the recipe in the comments.]

9 comments
  1. You guys have to post the recipe, as I love Greek-style roast chicken and would love to make it. Been using Keller’s basic, unmarinated French method for a while and it’s wonderful, but I can use a change. Post soon! :)

    • michael said:

      They called for marinating with the juice of one lemon, which seemed scant to me. What I did was place the chicken into a plastic bowl that fit it snugly, then mix said lemon juice with salt, pepper and some chopped oregano and cover the chicken. It was enough to coat all the exposed skin after all. I let it sit in the fridge for about three hours before I roasted it. Thanks for reading!

  2. jillian said:

    this impaled bird is kind of freaking me out. I do love the way you cook and eat though.

  3. You know, it’s the simplest recipes that are the most trickiest to make. Your chicken looks amazing!

  4. Jamie said:

    I’ll have to dig up my recipe for greek chicken–it’s not a roasted bird, but it’s definitely a dish with flavors that burst.

    Of course, now that I live in Astoria, I’ve been cooking less Greek since I can go to any one of five restaurants on my street alone…

  5. Koek! said:

    That bird looks lovely and tender. Any tips? Mine always dry out and I have no idea why.

    • michael said:

      Cooking time/temp is often an issue. I start the birdie at 425 F for 45 minutes, then take it down to 350 F for an additional 30 minutes. To insure doneness, you can use the old trick of seeing if the thigh juices run clear when pierced, but a digital probe thermometer is a safer and more reliable insurance against undercooking your bird. I find the bird stays moist under these thermal conditions. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers