09.03.12: dinner (Pacific cod ceviche and Terra-Chip-crusted scallops)

This is not going to be a normal post with a pithy (ha!) little story about this particular meal, because I have been staring at this photo of ceviche for a few weeks now and still can’t come up with something about Labor Day that isn’t completely banal. I mean, I could go all “bla bla bla, no grilling here because we were craving something light” or some crap, but I can only imagine how boring it would be to read it given how dull I found every various narrative bent.

So I am going to ask for your forbearance while I write about some of the various stream-of-conscious thoughts that have been running through my head.

Terra-Chip-Crusted Scallops with Rioja-Red-Onions

I finally bought myself a dSLR a month ago, and I both love and am terrified by it. It’s only been taken out to our balcony which is silly as these cameras are meant to take pictures of things, and that will be put to the test when we go to Barcelona in a day and a half. No, seriously. The trip that was promised when we moved out of Manhattan is now almost here and I’m practically jumping out of my skin in excitement. I’ve spent the last month making sure that as many of my i’s were dotted and t’s were crossed to get here, and frankly, it reminded me of why I don’t take many vacations. It also reminded me that the last vacation Michael and I took that had no obligations and no air mattresses was our honeymoon, and that is too long without a proper battery recharge.

I was also reminded of the fact that when we were married I was unemployed, and I have to say that while I’m pretty sure I’ll be sad when we get back from Spain as I was when we came back from Italy, I will be grateful that I have a good job with great coworkers to come back to, and that’s important. I’ll just have to keep saying that as I fight through jet lag and electronic reams of email.

I’ve been immersing myself in Barcelona research (as evidenced by my constant pinning to my Barcelona board on Pinterest) and I have to say–I’ve never felt so overwhelmed yet so excited to visit a place. I imagine this is what people who visit New York feel like on their first visit. There’s so much  to take in, and I hope we’re able to see our fill. I have a loosely-structured itinerary that I think will make everything work. To be honest–so long as I’m able to see Camp Nou, La Boqueria, La Sagrada Familia, and spend some time on the shores of the Mediterranean, I’ll be more than content.

This meal, to be completely honest, was just what we needed in the midst of some of this chaos–clean, fresh, light. And the fish liquor from the ceviche was particularly tasty. And right now, frankly, that’s all I can offer on food. I’m sure this is only a short phase after I go to the culinary utopia that is Barcelona.

To be continued…

2 comments
  1. Welcome to the land of the DSLR! Now is probably not a good time to tell you that I’ve had mine for exactly two years, and I still don’t really know how to use it. I can only absorb a teensy bit of info at a time, so it’s been a long haul. I do, however, generally like the photos I post, so for now, it’s okay.

    So, I know you’re back! And I want to see photos!!!!!

    Waiting patiently,

    [K]

    P.S. I prefer the post you came up with, over the almost-scribed “ceviche narrative.”

    • I’m just practicing, practicing, practicing. And figuring out a decent lighting scheme for wintertime photos without natural light.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

