07.06.13: appetizer (garlic-rubbed crostini with peaches, Gorgonzola piccante, and honey)

Peach, gorgonzola, and honey crostini

Garlic-rubbed crostini with peaches, gorgonzola, and honey

Because it has been very hot over the last few weeks and will probably get very hot again before the end of the summer, I’m going to continue to discuss easy foods that could easily double as dinner if you just make enough of it. The peaches have been particularly good this year, happily, and so I’ve enjoyed placing it on slices of garlic-rubbed bread along with some meat, some cheese, or both. I made these as an early evening appetizer, and given that we hadn’t had much to eat that day (because it was hot) I ended up making quite a few pieces, which is to say that probably had too many but I don’t really care because they were that delicious.

Peach, Gorgonzola and honey crostini.

Peach, Gorgonzola and honey crostini.

In any case, this served as both an appetizer and a primer plato, so naturally it extends that it could be turned into a proper meal if you wanted to use a whole baguette and snack on them over the course of an evening.  Even better, the gorgonzola is rich enough to not require a meat were you to turn it into a sandwich, but prosciutto would be a natural fit if such an addition is desired.

But honestly? I simply implore you to make this soon, because you will be sorry if peach season passes you by without trying it at least once. Save it for a day when it’s too hot to do much else but sip a crisp glass of wine and catch up on Netflix/Amazon Prime/the contents of your DVR.

Garlic-Rubbed Crostini with Peaches, Gorgonzola Piccante, and Honey

serves 4-6 as an appetizer, 2-4 as a first course

  • 1/2 baguette, sliced in half and then cut into pieces
  • 1/2 lb Gorgonzola piccante (i.e. aged Gorgonzola), crumbled
  • 1-2 large garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 ripe peaches, halved and sliced
  • Honey for drizzling
  • Sea salt, optional

Set your oven (or toaster oven) to broil, and carefully toast bread until golden brown. (If slightly overdone, use a knife to scrape off the blackened bits.) Rub the pieces with the garlic clove as desired, and then crumble the Gorgonzola cheese onto the bread. Add 1-2 peach slices per piece of bread, and then drizzle with honey. Lightly season with sea salt if desired, and serve immediately.

8 comments
    • I wish I had known about your dinner party dilemma earlier, else I would have suggested this!

      • I know, right? But at least now I know for the next time I pretend to be an adult who can host guests effortlessly at the drop of a hat.

  1. biz319 said:

    I love how that dish screams summer – and the salty/sweet combo? Amazeballs!

  2. shannon said:

    say no more: i fully understand the importance of eating peaches while they are perfect. When they’re in season i fall all over myself trying to find recipes to suit them (in addition to just eating them straight out), and you’ve just given me another one here. This combination is gorgeous together: i’ve never thought to do this, but i can imagine it’s wonderful all put together.

  3. WHY do you torture me with these things? I’m jealous and hungry at the same time.

  4. Kim said:

    Wish I had that when I was going through the entire series of Mad Men. That would have been perfect with my cocktails. Also, you win the award for best savory application of peaches I’ve seen all summer. :)

    [K]

    • Aw, thank you! And how did you like Mad Men? (I’m assuming you liked it a little if you’ve made it through the whole series. We’re in the process of doing that for Breaking Bad.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

