08.02.08: appetizer (subtitle: exercises in patience)

Tomato and Sweet Onion Salsa with Ciabatta Rolls

Tomato and Sweet Onion Salsa with Ciabatta Rolls

Elizabeth found this salsa years ago.  It’s amazing.  Fresh tomatoes, onions, jalapenos, lemon, cilantro and salt.  Maybe some cilantro, that’s it.  It’s perfect on bread, with grilled meat, chips, *anything*.

Looking at this old school photo certainly puts me in the mood for some salsa.  So, will I make it today? no.  Tomorrow? no.  Next week? probably not.  Why? because while the sweet onions are decent right now, tomatoes are not.  Trying to make this any time other than late spring/summer is an endeavor in futility.  It just won’t taste good, I don’t care how great a hothouse may proport its tomatoes to be.

I can wait, I will wait.  I think of how wonderful it will be to enjoy it in its proper time.  I love the spring, and I can hold out for a few more months.  Plenty of other things to enjoy before then.  Soup anyone?

Leave a Reply

