01.20.08: dinner (lamb stew and spaghetti squash).

dscn0257

Lamb Stew with Spaghetti Squash and Quick Tomato Sauce

This is a shot we took over a year ago, and I think Elizabeth was originally photographing the wine carafe. I was very excited about the lamb stew on the left, it was my first attempt and it had come out really well. I covered the lamb meat with cumin before I browned it and it made a huge difference. Now I always dust lamb with cumin before I brown it, just like shaking on salt and pepper.

I like a good amount of orange flavor in there too, so there’s zest and juice of two oranges. I think I decided on sweet potatoes, carrots and onions (and a can of my fave petite cut tomatoes) for the veggies. Employing the typical liquid-and-stuff in a pot approach: brown meat, sweat veggies, add liquids, bring to boil and simmer for a couple-a hours and it’ll be good-to-go.

I made spaghetti squash with spicy Roman tomato sauce to go with it, just for something different to go with it that wouldn’t be too much. I like this as a side, and it’s been appearing more and more often on our plates, but I’ll give it its own some other time.

Leave a Reply

