A Take Back Your Kitchen question: do you use homemade bread crumbs or store-bought?

For some, this is a non-issue:  either they eschew the canned product and exclusively make their own, or they completely write off anything that they can’t find in a supermarket.  Normally we use the canned stuff (because honestly, we usually eat the bread we have lying around before it can get stale enough to process) but the recent pork shoulder recipe we made on Saturday called for fresh, unseasoned, untoasted breadcrumbs, so we decided to finally explore uncharted culinary territory.

We only needed a nascent amount (2 Tbsp) for the recipe, so we picked up a roll and let it sit out to dry all afternoon, and then took it to task by processing those chunks in a blender.  A food processor would produce finer chunks, but since we don’t have the counter space to justify that just yet, we’re using what we have.  Anyway.  We were left with quite a large amount of breadcrumbs when all was said and done, so I suggested using them for the tilapia purchased Sunday for tonight’s dinner, and so I toasted and seasoned them myself:

Homemade breadcrumbs

Homemade breadcrumbs

I spread them out on a baking sheet lined with foil, shoved them into an oven that probably was about 300 degrees for about 8 minutes until just golden brown (though I would suggest allowing your oven to actually preheat to 425 and check them every minute).  I added more salt and pepper to the mix, then Michael added some Italian seasoning mix from Penzy’s Spices; the results were rather amazing, and our fish did taste great.

It does, however, leads me to ask:  isn’t there room in the world for both fresh and canned breadcrumbs?  The latter, being more uniform in size, work well for breading pieces of fish or pork chops, but the former taste so much better in my favorite toasted pasta recipe.  So we pose the question to you, dear readers:  what do you use and why?  We’re passing no judgment here–we’re merely curious as to what you use.

2 comments
  1. The bread crumbs here are never seasoned so I have to add spices to them. In the States I used to buy the Italian seasoned ones. Yet here in Italy I cannot find them. Ha.

  2. Penny said:

    This is so weird….I feel like I just commented on this someplace, maybe another blog. In any case, I’m with you, E. There’s room for both, and canned are better for certain recipes. When I make fresh (which is rare because, like you, I devour bread) it’s usually for my favorite pasta, and it needs those irregular, chunkier bits of toasted bread. Finer fresh bread crumbs are ideal, as your hubby mentions in the next post, for breading and frying.

Leave a Reply

