06.04.09: dinner (salsa verde cometh)

Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Verde

Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Verde

I’ve been dying to try my hand at green enchiladas for a long time.  Most of the recipes I found were either very ingredient-intensive or of the following genre:

  • cook chicken
  • roll in tortillas
  • open a can of green sauce
  • pour on top

I don’t consider myself a perfectionist and I try not be a snob, but I felt I could do better.  I had found some poblano peppers at the grocery store, a rare occurrence to say the least, and decided that it was a sign.  I also remembered from the recipe hunting I’d been doing before that I needed to get some tomatillos also.  Luckily, I remembered that a local market usually had them in the springy months.

I guess the message here is that just because you’re daunted by a recipe at first, don’t just write it off.  Keep it in the back of your head, or better yet, keep a little book or journal on hand to jot down ideas, inspiration or cool things you see in the store.  The opportunity will eventually present itself: be it an opportune time, event or appearance of a rare ingredient and when it does, you’ll be ready to take the plunge.

In case you were wondering…

  • 3 poblanos: quartered and roasted under the broiler until charred
  • 4 medium tomatillos, paper removed and roasted for 6-8 minutes at 425 F
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2-5 garlic gloves, chopped
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 bunch parsely
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • juice of 1-2 limes
  • salt/pepper/red pepper or dried chipotle powder

Remove the poblano skins once cooled, just like roasted red peppers  and chop roughly.  Remove the green tomatillo skins once they’ve cooled.  Saute the onion and garlic until fragrant and softened, 3-5 minutes on medium heat.  Remove stems from the herbs (I used leftover chimichurri instead of fresh herbs, but that’s another post).

Add everything to the blender and swirl until smooth.  Use this instead of canned sauce on your enchiladas.  Also, I recommend Monterrey jack cheese for these guys, but use whatever you like.  Also, if you’re using our old enchilada preparation, save yourself the trouble and omit the peppers and onions and just stick to chicken and cheese for this guy.   (Standard enchilada recipe can be referenced right here)

Viti Verde Vici!

Leave a Reply

