06.10.09: dinner (turkey tacos)

Ground Turkey Tacos with Avocado, Cheese, Spring Garlic and Peruvian Bean Salad

Ground Turkey Tacos with Avocado, Cheese, Spring Garlic and Peruvian Bean Salad

I’m always intrigued by ground turkey.  I’m not a huge fan of ground beef, mainly because it got it’s start as a repository for all the bits of beef deemed unsuitable (or too small) for sale.  I’m not a burger guy and I can think of half a dozen meats I’d rather make meatloaf out of.  Typically, if I want meaty, brawny-type ground meat (like for chili or tomato sauce), I tend to opt for ground pork and/or lamb.

I think I gravitate to ground turkey for two basic reasons, one- it’s not expensive and two- I think it’s healthy.  Now I’m sure it’s better than beef in the cholesterol and saturated fat department, but beyond that, I don’t know much else about the numbers.  Like so many of us, I see poultry substituted for mammal and my brain says: eat all you want, it’s good for you! even though this is certainly a fallacy.

For the tacos, I sauteed the turkey with a chopped onion on medium-high.  I try to brown the turkey a little before I add the onion.  To season, I add 1-1.5 tbsp of chili powder, almost a full tbsp of cumin and a scant tsp of ground chipotle.  I saute for 15 minutes or so, until the meat is very hot and cooked through.  I like to keep my toppings simple although shredded cheese is a given.  Here, I opted for zesty cheddar, but a milder cheese like farmer or queso blanco is more traditional.  I see that I must have had a hankering for avocados this particular night.  With tacos, there are no wrong answers.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

