12.16.09: dinner (enjoying beets in a sandwich).

Roasted Beet, Goat Cheese and Avocado Sandwich

The holidays are over, and now we are all suddenly worried about the excesses we took in over the last few weeks and clearly want to turn to better-for-you foods–or at least that’s what my fellow food marketers want you to think.  What’s ironic, of course, is that this period of health and wellness always comes when the essence of health and wellness from a food perspective–that is, fruits and vegetables–is at its weakest point, at least with finding a wide variety of tempting options that don’t need much done to them to taste delicious.  There are a few options that I’ve made tentative steps in embracing over the last few years, with roasted beets being one of the more surprising options I’ve come to enjoy.  I’m still fussy about how I like them (well-roasted and not dried out), but better to be particular and eat them instead of not eating them at all, no?

When I found this sandwich combo a few weeks ago on Serious Eats, I pitched it to the husband and he was instantly intrigued, and so that week we picked up the necessary ingredients to make these delicious sandwiches.  I already knew that goat cheese, arugula and beets go very well together thanks to a salad I’ve had many times at Pacifico in New Haven, and the avocado added another level of creaminess that balanced well with the beets, as they were a little on the crispy side.

The only thing I’d change is the bread–I picked up a ciabatta loaf from the Appletree on the way home, but when we have this again, using smaller rolls will make this easier to eat.  A touch of vinaigrette that’s suggested in the recipe would also add just the right amount of tanginess too–I think I’ll push for a hint of lime the next time we have this.

All in all, a surprisingly good sandwich–and one perfectly suited for wintertime healthy eating goals.

1 comment
  1. Beets! Yarrrrrrrghl! My nemesis!

    But I love every other ingredient in this sandwich…so maybe I’d like it? Shhhh…don’t tell anyone.

Leave a Reply

