06.06.10: calamari.

Calamares alla Plancha

I have extolled the virtues of squid here before.  Alton Brown has also devoted not one, but two episodes to this tasty cephalopod.  I tend to put this critter in the no-guilt category: it’s inexpensive, sustainable, high in protein and low in, well, bad stuff.  I don’t have a deep fryer, nor do I seek one, and my grill pan, when properly imbued with thermal fury, makes a tasty ring or tentacle.  This preparation was initially brought to my attention from the supremely awesome tapas knowledge repository that is the Barcelona cookbook.

Calamari alla Plancha con Salsa Aglio y Olio

This latest instance, Mistress Elizabeth decided she needed some roasted garlic with my calamari, and I obliged.  I thought that I didn’t need a sauce for my tasty/precious squid parts, but lo and behold if I wasn’t dipping deep before long.  The sauce was just a bulb of homemade roasted garlic [Ed.–a head of garlic that has been cut in two, smothered with about a tablespoon of olive oil and packed into a foil packet and roasted for abut an hour at 400 degrees] squeezed into a bowl and whisked with the juice of one lemon, a teaspoon of olive oil and half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper.  It was awesome bold and somehow understated.

I think I could eat calamari a la plancha every night with spicy tomato sauce and lemon every night probably, so needless to say I was impressed with how much I loved this stuff.  Keep an open mind, friend and until next time, cook on!

Squid on Foodista

2 comments
  1. I’m always so impressed by your calimari posts. I’m so intimidated to cook it! I order it in restaurants but never attempt it myself.

  2. Believe it or not, I have squid in my fridge right now – guess what I’m gonna be making??!!

Leave a Reply

