More fun with the whipped cream siphon: chocolate mousse via Alton Brown

Chocolate mousse via a whipped cream siphon.

It appears that I’ve “broken” my husband. Broken him of what, you may ask? Well, I’ve broken him from his ambivalence on dessert—usually he’ll eat it if it’s offered to him, but he’s not one to usually request it. That has changed, however, thanks to the introduction of the iSi Whip into our kitchen: not only does he request yogurt cream foam for dessert from time to time these days, but a few weekends can’t go by without him asking for chocolate mousse for dessert.

Honestly, it’s kind of weird, but I guess I have no one but myself and Alton Brown to blame. You see I had it in my head one Saturday to look for some more iSi recipes and had the intention to adapt an interesting-enough mousse recipe from Giada DeLaurentiis (yes, I know) into an iSi-friendly version. Instead, I stumbled upon a mousse recipe specifically designed for a cream siphon, and when I clicked on it in sheer bewilderment (since when would the Food Network allow for such high-level chicanery?) I realized that it was from one of the final episodes of Good Eats; one, I should mention, we never watched once when we had the back half of the series streaming on Prime. But the video demonstrating how to make it was still on Food Network’s website, so I sat down and watched it. Then I played it a second time and made Michael watch it, and wouldn’t you know, we made a batch for ourselves that very night.

Same recipe, different decorative tip. Just as delicious.

This is easily the most intense chocolate mousse you will ever have, because it’s mostly chocolate with absolutely no added dairy. Adding in four ounces of water and coffee (we used espresso) along with some sugar gives you a really smooth, creamy mixture that pours right into the siphon and then shoots neatly into your serving vessel of choice. It’s utterly wild.

With lychee, because they were at Fairway and therefore why not?

Since making it the first time we’ve played with the amount of sugar and the type of chocolate, depending on what chocolate was available to us, and I think the next time I make it I may try to add in a little chocolate or hazelnut liqueur, just to see what happens. Incidentally, Ferran Adira worked with Lavazza to make an “edible espresso” that he calls Èspesso (a portmanteau of espuma and espresso) back in 2006, and now I’m very curious to give it a try.

The recipe for Alton Brown’s mousse is available on Food Network’s website, and if this doesn’t persuade you to consider getting yourself a siphon of your own, then perhaps microwave sponge cake may be the tipping point.

7 comments
  1. Gotta try this! Just got a siphon because I saw an article on infused celery sticks (is cooler than it sounds). It’s a little on the small side, though

    • Awesome! (I’ve seen a few articles on using them to infuse alcohol, so please report back on the celery sticks–that sounds crazy!) Mine’s a pint-size one and we can usually get four solid servings out of it.

  2. Erin said:

    Hi, Eamonn’s Mom here,

    I’m very interested in the ISI Whip. Would you recommend the pint or quart size? Aluminum or stainless steel? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

    Erin Edge

  3. shannon said:

    I have to admit: when i worked my one christmas at Williams Sonoma (like 2008 or something, i think), i was baffled at the siphon and why anyone would need it. Then i started cooking more and more, and i got it, but much like an apple corer, i didn’t think i’d use it enough to warrant adding it to my already-large collection of gadgets. Three years into the blog, and going on three years of knowing you, and probably i’m getting a siphon very soon. And yes, this probably did it. I’ll say thank you in advance, because I know i’m going to have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

