Reflections on last year’s season of rosé and caftans.

Last year you may recall that I declared spring and summer to be rosé and caftan season, and let me tell you it was pretty grand floating through the apartment in a breezy caftan with no pants and sipping rosé on our balcony on particularly balmy evenings. I have no way to prove this but I’m convinced that this declaration was extremely beneficial in helping us enjoy our last New England summer. We made sure to head to the local beach as often as possible and sometimes I’d even ditch my car at the office and we’d walk home on a Friday night after a delicious dinner at Dinosaur Barbecue, and naturally we made many trips into the city. While we had no idea how chaotic things would get by August, I’d like to think that we were slightly better-equipped to handle all the change headed our way but that’s probably the hindsight talking.

Well, this year I’m going to take a similar tact and declare that it will be again a season of rosé and caftans–I even have my eye on a new one to mark the occasion–but since we’re no longer living within ten minutes of a beach, I also felt that I needed to add something new to the mix. Caftans are still all well and good for hanging around our apartment as I’ve heard that “swamp-ass” is an apt descriptor of Baltimore weather during the height of summer, but it’s also time to add something a bit more, well, company-and-outside-appropriate to my summer aesthetic. I just have to wait for something to eventually make it to my doorstep prior to writing about it.

In the meantime, though, let me tell you about some of the things we’re excited to do this summer: riding the water taxi across the harbor, walking over to Camden Yards for Orioles games, going to restaurants other than those within a four-block radius because walking is a pleasure once again, and making our way to the big farmers market that for whatever reason is held under I-83 every Sunday. There’s a trip to the Delaware shore planned that we’re really looking forward to as well, but mostly I’m just looking forward to the prospect of getting to know our new town.

There will be lots of (sustainable) seafood made, fresh air to take in, and new neighborhoods to explore. To put it simply: I’m so excited.

I’ve already found some really interesting new-to-us roses to also mark the new season:

  • Alexander Valley Vineyards Dry Rose of Sangiovese: This California rose is good…but for a wine described as a dry one, it wasn’t really dry enough for me, at least on first taste. There’s a slight effervescence to it, though, that’s pretty appealing, and Michael really enjoyed it, so I feel like I need to give it one more try.
  • Notre Dame De Cousignac Luberon: See, now this is what I think of when I think of rose. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s French, but this is so light and pleasing while not being too sweet to my tongue. There’s more of a minerality to this that I don’t detect in the California rose, but what do I know–Michael preferred that to this one.
  • iGreco Rosato: This is definitely a little sweeter compared to the other two, but it’s very easy to drink. I want to try this with some spicy Italian seafood since it harkens from the Calabrian region–I feel like it would go very nicely with the garlic and chilli calamari from Franny’s.

I’ll update here with any other notable wines I find, but I’ll also be doing so on Instagram so you can also following along there!

11 comments
  1. Brianne said:

    Dang, this sounds awesome. I’m excited to explore our new little town this summer, though we’ll probably have seen everything there is to see by the end of June. Big or small, new places are still fun, right? We still have nothing blooming yet–I’m getting real impatient to see some bees! One of my summer goals is to drink more rosé. I read through my wine journal (Can I say that without sounding kind of douchey?) last week and realized I’ve been going hard with the reds, so I’m swearing off of them this summer. Whites and rosés for me! I’m excited to see more of your recommendations!

    • Oh, definitely–and just think that you can find where you want to establish yourself as a regular that much sooner. I’ll see your wine journal and raise you a spreadsheet in which I maintain which wines I like from which stores around here that I like, so if anything we can be terrible together. 🙂 Seriously, though, documentation of wine is a good thing, if only to make sure we have a list of favorites to keep in mind when shopping in a new place.

      I could never fully swear off reds, even in the summer, but I definitely will be drinking fewer of them as it gets hot out.

  2. varinaj said:

    Not to just creepily butt in here, but since this topic addresses one of my faves (roses, that is, though I’ll have to look into the caftan situation), I had to throw this out there, because this site EXISTS: http://yeswayrose.com/. Also, my new fave for the summer: Laurent Miquel Rose Cinsault Syrah (!) from 2014.

    • Oh, Yes Way Rose has been on my radar since last year! Love those ladies. I’m going to have to check out that Syrah for myself though!!

  3. Wish there was a guy version of caftans… Btw, Josa Tulum has some terrific caftan-ish designs. We know the owner and my wife had 3-4 of them…

    • Thanks for the tip–I’m going to have to check that out! As for the dude version of a caftan…well, mesh shorts are pretty stretchy right?

  4. Love me a good rose although I haven’t tried any of these yet.
    I’ll be giving Alexander Valley a try though.
    Can’t wait to see what your aesthetic is 😀 😀

    • I think my favorite part about rose is that there are so many choices each season and it’s only right to try them all. I definitely get attached to favorites, but I don’t want to get hung up on certain labels this year like I did last.

      As for the aesthetic, I hope you like it! Your eye is nothing if not discerning. 🙂

  5. There’s a farmer’s market under the freeway? That’s hilarious (and nuts)! I love a good rose, so your recommendations are much appreciated!

    • Don’t worry–when we go there will be a full report because I’m DYING to see what it’s like!

Leave a Reply

