Rosé, shore eats, and other things we’ve been up to lately.

The view of Rehoboth from Herring Point in Cape Henlopen Park

Oh, hi there–it’s me, and yes I did go and disappear for most of July! In my defense, we’ve been really, really busy between houseguests, work travel, and taking a long weekend and heading over to Rehoboth Beach in Delaware. (We have more houseguests coming this weekend so we’re ending this month as busy as it began.) It’s getting to the point where we’re looking at the next few weeks and actively planning days where we don’t do anything save for walking over and having some oysters at Thames Street or maybe a couple of beers at Max’s, because having such an active social life is not something we’re altogether accustomed to after years of being on our own for so long.

Obligatory stop at one of the local Rehoboth oyster houses, Fin’s.

Granted, I’m not complaining–the introvert in me is just feeling a bit overwhelmed with it all, and it’s making me want to clam up a bit. It feels like eons since we’ve had a couple of beers at Nick’s Inner Harbor and then got some takeout–so long, in fact, that my beloved Cross Street Kabobs has left and a Peruvian chicken restaurant has taken its place; fortunately it looks like I have other kabob options a little further down the street. (I know you were really worried there for a second.)

Throughout all of this, though, blogging has definitely fallen by the wayside so I’m going to use this as a post to dump some of the things rattling away in my brain while I get my mojo back up and running:

My favorite rosés of the moment.

  • My favorite rosés right now are the two you see above. I had taken this picture for the Fourth and posted it on my Facebook page, and then promptly didn’t write anything about either one. I’ve also found their white counterparts at another local shop and I’m eager to try them as well. The Pigoudet is as light as its color suggests, while the Chateau is a little more robust with berry notes, while still maintaining a nice dry crispness. I’m going to try the more expensive version of the Pigoudet at some point soon and will report back on whether it’s worth a few extra bucks to buy. The caftan pictured on the left is quite comfortable even if I do feel a bit like a flag when I wear it; unfortunately it’s no longer available on J.Crew.

The crabcake sandwich from Woody’s in Dewey Beach.

  • Rehoboth was nice, and we had so much good food. We spent some of our time down in Dewey Beach which is two miles south of Rehoboth, and on our first day I had what simply is the best damn crab cake of my life. Everyone brags about how their crab cakes have very little filler and is “all crab” but my GOD, the one at Woody’s in Dewey actually lived up to the claim: the filler was gossamer-thin and started to come apart the second you took a bite. It was crab-tastic. It was crab-a-rific. If you’re headed down to that area at any point this summer, GO TO WOODY’S IN DEWEY BEACH. I’m probably going to irk a bunch of locals who like that it’s their spot and that the tourists don’t flock there but hey–Woody’s asked people to tag them on Instagram.

Dogfish Head Brewpub’s infamous Scrapple Burger.

  • We also made it to Dogfish Head’s brewpub, and there I finally tried the Mid-Atlantic/PA Dutch delicacy known as scrapple. It’s one of those mystery-meat type foods in which various parts of the pig are ground up and formed into patties, and my dad used to buy it and fry it up in the mornings before going to work. It smelled like death and would completely stink out the kitchen, but I figured if I was going to try the stuff, doing so with the addition of a fried egg and a perfectly-rare beef patty would be the best way to go about it. Let’s just say that I completely understand why people still love scrapple so much–it’s better than any breakfast sausage you can find on the market otherwise. I might have to pick up a pack and make some one Saturday morning in lieu of bacon.
  • Other highlights of our long weekend include lots of boogie boarding, the two-mile walk between Rehoboth and Dewey (you encounter way more palatial homes on that route than you ever would expect to), and doing some much-needed outlet shopping with my mom. I also picked up some great spices at The Spice and Tea Exchange, so I’m now stocked for things like star anise for the foreseeable future.
  • A sizable chunk of July was devoted to devising a really crazy dinner menu for a dinner party…but that’s all I can really say about it because there is a general agreement among the parties involved to keep details of it offline. That said, I will be offering one recipe from one of the quasi-original dishes I devised for it in this space within the next week because it goes perfectly with my summer of vermouth and stripes and I feel like I haven’t written nearly enough about that this summer and I need to rectify that while there is still enough summer to enjoy.

OK, that feels like enough of a brain dump–I will be back with recipes very, very soon.

5 comments
  1. Yum yum to all that food and wine, quite the wrap up 😀
    Welcome back from your litle hiatus, sometimes you just gotta step away and enjoy life offline 🙂
    ❤ ❤

    • Seriously–that’s exactly what I had to do!

  2. Brianne said:

    I get one bottle of rose a summer. I have to drink it by myself–the guy hates the stuff (boo on him, it’s so good!). I found my yearly bottle last weekend and it’s waiting for a more relaxing weekend (Gah, they’ve all been so busy lately!) for me to drink it all up. All I remember about it off the top of my head is that it’s French and was $14. But I can’t wait to drink it! I’m so glad you’re living the summer up! Keep it going, but this month it sounds like we both gotta try to take some time for ourselves at home 🙂

  3. Wendi said:

    I was in FedHill the other week (have you been to SoBo Cafe yet? you need to go) and noticed that a Ramen Shop is about to open up. It won’t replace your Kabob but it might be a nice addition to your choices.

    • I did see that the ramen place was coming–and yeah, definitely looking forward to checking that out when the humidity isn’t ridiculous. SoBo is totally new to me so that’s definitely going on the list of places to visit–thank you!

Leave a Reply

