Checking in after a chaotic few weeks.

Well, it’s been some time, hasn’t it? Here I was, doing so well for most of the year and then October got…interesting. It started around my birthday with a very full weekend of activities both with my family and on our own, and then the following weekend we had a wedding to attend and then soon enough we were in New Orleans on vacation. Add in some work-related travel to New York and Connecticut and despite having lots to write about, I feel like I’ve had very little time to think much about it in a way that’s worthy of a blog post.

Of course, in the midst of all of this chaos, I also went and got myself a new job.

Handmade Puglian pasta that you’ll definitely be seeing again soon.

I was not planning on doing this–well, at least not in this time frame–but an opportunity presented itself that became too good to pass up, and so two weeks ago today I called my boss and tendered my resignation. Naturally the time between then and my last day became frenetic as I was trying to tie up as many loose ends as possible and my last day specifically was extremely busy and stressful, but I’m fortunate as to have a week before my new role begins so I can take that time to relax and not fret about anything. As someone who has dealt with unemployment in the past, I can genuinely say I’m looking forward to having some funemployment time for a few days.

We also had a fancy lunch at Galatoire’s, which was as epic as you would expect.

Part of that time means traveling for the holiday so I’m planning on making the most of my time off here: watching foreign films, puttering around the kitchen, and taking the time to finally do some real writing about New Orleans and all of the other food-related topics I have so I can get back into more of a blogging schedule. I’ll probably try to hop on the free commuter boat at least once during that time because opportunities to do so will not be readily available (nor will the weather be particularly favorable to do so for very long anyway) and treat myself to some lunches around the neighborhood.

I’ll be back to posting recipes soon–between New Orleans and a tidy cookbook haul for my birthday I have so many good things to share–but in the meantime I wanted to shed a little light on why I went MIA there for a while.

4 comments
  1. First off – Happy belated birthday babe!!!
    Secondly – CONGRATULATIONSSS!!!!!! YESSSSSS!!!!!!!!
    Totally get what you mean by time off between jobs so you go right on ahead and rest up, watch all the foreign films you want and enjoy the hell out of New Orleans 😀

    So happy for you!! Way to go girl!!

Leave a Reply

