Sabor de soledad, Michael in Florida in August edition: tomato salad with burrata, basil, prosciutto, and garlic-sherry vinaigrette

Tomato, Burrata, Prosciutto, and Basil Salad with Sherry-Garlic Vinaigrette

I don’t know what’s worse: having to go on a work trip immediately before or immediately after a vacation. Michael had to fly down to Jacksonville, FL the day after we got back from our little sojurn in Rehoboth, and so I was looking at a few days of making food just for myself. On the drive home from Delaware I devised a little menu for the two nights he’d be gone, deciding on ricotta dumplings (because it’s been too long since I’ve made them) and initially, the arugula-prosciutto-orange salad I made a few times back in Stamford. The ricotta dumplings were as delicious as ever, and made better from using some of the herbs growing on our window sills, but to be truthful I wasn’t really feeling the arugula salad the next day. I mostly blame this on the fact that the package of arugula I got was really disappointing, but let’s just say there were other factors involved as well.

Ricotta dumplings because they always need to be revisited.

Having half a mind to walk over to the market near my office around lunchtime to pick up a nice tomato to use instead, I was pleasantly surprised by my boss coming in and bringing me a big-ass heirloom tomato from his garden that very morning. I immediately resolved to make an awesome tomato salad, and even though it’s barely a salad (in that the only greens is the chiffonade of basil on top) it was exactly what I needed that night between the MSG in the tomatoes and the creamy, delicious burrata cheese.

A balsamic vinaigrette would have been more traditional here given all of the ingredients at play, but I prefer sherry vinegar to balsamic so a garlic-sherry dressing was the order of the day. I dressed the tomatoes and prosciutto and saved the burrata and basil for plating so that the burrata wouldn’t fall apart and the basil wouldn’t wilt. Once I got my photos in I definitely lingered over this salad, and while a little pool of dressing and tomato water accumulated at the bottom, I have to admit that I ended up slurping that up too. (It was tart and slightly creamy from the leftover cheese and oh-so-garlicky.)

My boss has noted that he will have more tomatoes coming, and if he is so generous to share them with me I’m making this again for when Michael is here, although I might add some shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano or goat cheese in lieu of the burrata on his plate. Patience may not work for me, though, so I might have to supplement with heirlooms from the farmers market or even Harris Teeter/Whole Foods at this point because you know what? It’s fucking tomato season, everyone, i.e. the most wonderful time of the year!

(Given that we don’t have kids, the reason why this is relevant is that BTS time=awesome summer produce time, and it all kind of comes together because I used to work at an Office Max back in the day.)

Tomato Salad with Burrata, Basil and Prosciutto with Garlic-Sherry Vinaigrette

Serves 1 as a generous dinner, or two as an appetizer

  • 1 large heirloom tomato, cut into a large dice
  • 3 slices prosciutto, torn
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sherry vinegar
  • 2 garlic/ cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon kosher salt (or to taste
  • 8 basil leaves, chiffonade
  • 1 4 oz ball burrata, cut into small chunks

Place the tomatoes and prosciutto into a serving bowl, and then make the dressing: combine the garlic, sherry vinegar, and salt into a bowl, and then drizzle in the olive oil and whisk until well combined and tastes to your liking. Pour over the tomatoes and prosciutto, and then add the burrata cheese and sprinkle basil over top and serve immediately.

1 comment
  1. Hahahaha @ “It’s fucking tomato season everyone!”
    You goddamn right it is 😀

Leave a Reply

